How to enable the system restore in Windows 10

It is very important to have the system restore feature enabled in Windows 10. If it is disabled you will be unable to roll back your operating system to the previous state in the case of virus infection or a glitch – so the only way out would be to perform a reset that takes much more time and does not save all your apps and settings. Here are steps to enable the system restore in Windows 10. After you do this the restore points will be created automatically.   Continue reading

3 Ways to Delete the Windows.old Folder in Windows 10

How to delete windows.old in WIndows 10

What kind of folder is it and why delete it?

Windows.old stores the information about the previous installation of your OS. For example if you have upgraded to Windows 10 you can roll back and use your Windows 7 or 8.1. After you delete the Windows.old folder you would be unable to revert.

As far as this folder contains the previous operating system data it takes a lot of space on your disk – 30 or 40 GigaBytes or even more depending on how many software you had on your old Windows. If you are sure you like your current OS and won’t need to revert to the previous version you may want to remove Windows.old to free up some space on your SSD or HDD.

If you don’t experience any problems with the free space on your disk you don’t need to remove the folder – Windows 10 will erase it by itself one month after you upgraded to the new version.

Continue reading