How to Delete Photos from Windows PC But Not to Remove Them from Google Photos

Backup and sync Preferences

How to Remove Files Deleted on PC from Google Disk But Not to Remove Deleted Photos from Google Photos

There is no problem with freeing up the device folder on your Android and almost no problem with clearing internal storage on your Apple device. But many of you don’t understand how to free up space on Windows 10 PC and not to delete photos and videos from Google Photos. And you are shaking from the mere thought that when you delete photos from a PC they will be lost from Google Photos! Let’s find out how to arrange the things the right way.  Continue reading

Google Backup and Sync Error “Something went wrong. Can’t add path”

Something went wrong - Backup and Sync

Backup and Sync from Google is quite a raw app. It is a fresh app that came to replace the two old programs for PC at once – Google Drive and Google Photos. Backup and Sync contains some awkward drawbacks making users stuck on configuring the app. Let me tell you about my situation.

I have a photos archive on my hard drive. It is located in Pictures\Camera Roll\. I prefer splitting the archive into years. That’s why in the Camera Roll directory I have sub directories named 2018, 2017, 2016, etc. A few days ago I had to roll back my Windows 10 to the previous state using Aomei Backupper because the OS worked not perfect. As it turned out, the backup did not contain Backup and sync for some reason. So I downloaded the latest version and installed it.

When I launched the program it applied some settings from its previous installation. In such a way the parent folder named Pictures appeared in the list of synced directories. I hate when Google’s Backup and Sync rechecks all my photo archive each time I boot (or reboot) my computer I decided to add only the folder with the latest photos to sync. And when I unchecked the “Pictures” folder in the Preferences and tried to add only ‘2018’ the program told me “Something went wrong: Can’t add path “C:\Users\tunecomp.net\Pictures\Camera Roll\2018″ because its a sub-folder or a parent of a folder that’s already been added”. Even if I tried to uncheck the parent directory the app still reported that error. Here is how to resolve the problem! Continue reading

How to Clear Chat History in Skype 8

From time to time you understand that you need to clear your conversation history on Skype. You may want this to protect your private and sensitive information. For example, if you wrote bad stuff about your boss while you were discussing your job with a friend be sure to delete this conversation before your go home. Or if you chatted with your former girlfriend hurry up to get rid of logs before your wife reads it 🙂 I’m just joking. But you know better than me when you need to purge the unwanted chat urgently.

In the classic Skype program that you are so used to using you could clear the chat history in Tools → Options → Privacy → Privacy Settings → Clear history. But since the Skype updated to the new version 8 in 2018 you don’t have the opportunity to do it the same way. In this article we will explain how you can clear the conversation with a certain contact in Skype 8. Hopefully, developers won’t change everything again and I won’t have to write this manual from a scratch. Continue reading

How to Disable News Feed on Speed Dial of Opera in Windows

Starting with version 54 the Opera browser will show you news feed right on the Speed Dial page. It will be displayed under your favorite websites tiles. You can select news among various categories (arts, business, food, health, technology, etc) and definitely find something interesting for you because Opera will show you local content from your particular area. If you enjoy those suggestions leave everything as is. But we will show you how you can get rid of the news feed on the speed dial page of your Opera in a few clicks of a mouse if you it gets you annoyed. This can also be quite useful on slow computers.  Continue reading

How To Remove Your Sync Passphrase From Google Chrome

Some time ago we wrote about Sync Passphrase in Google Chrome. By the way, we strongly recommend that you set it up and use to provide extra-protection for your personal web data such as passwords for websites, banking credentials, bookmarks and surfing history. But in some cases you may need to disable the Sync Passphrase. For instance, if you forgot it or just want stop using because you believe your password from the Google account is very strong. And here is how to remove it on Windows 10 PC, Android device or iPhone/iPad.  Continue reading

How to Clear Cookies for a Specific Website in Firefox 60 or Newer

firefox remove cookies for specific website

When you visit a website in your browser it stores cookie files in a temporary folder on your computer. As you may know, they serve for your browser to “remember” what pages you visited and what action you did on that particular website. For instance, you don’t have to put in your username and password each time if you keep cookies. All browsers have an option to clear cookie files – you click on a button and all of them are being deleted. But here is how you can delete cookies for a specific website in Mozilla Firefox without affecting the others.  Continue reading