How to Forget a Wi-Fi Network Profile in Windows 10 and 8.1

When you connect to a wireless network your PC saves its credentials. But you may want to delete the information about unnecessary and insecure networks from computer. It was very simple to forget a wifi network from GUI in Windows 7 and XP. But in Windows 8 this feature is absent. Today we will show you the easiest ways to delete a Wi-Fi hotspot profile in Windows 10 and 8.1 using GUI and command line. It is quite important to clear unwanted profiles to prevent your laptop from automatically connecting to insecure or vulnerable hotspots.

You should remember that hotspots protected with vulnerable security modes (WEP, WPA) represent a horrible danger to your banking credentials and personal data. Open Wi-Fi networks are out of the questions. You should never connect to such because the traffic is not encrypted at all and anyone can use a sniffer program to steal your sensitive data such as login credentials.

How to delete Wi-Fi hotspot profile in Windows 10

Click on the Wi-Fi icon in the Taskbar and select Network and Internet settings:

windows 10 forget wireless network

Click on Advanced options link:

windows 10 forget wireless network

Here you will find Manage known networks area.

Select the wireless network profile you wish to delete.
Press Forget:

How to forget wireless network in Windows 10

How to forget a specific wireless network in Windows 8.1

This method works in both Windows 8 and Windows 10. But in Windows 8 (8.1) this is the only way to delete wireless hotspot’s profile.

Right click the Start.
Select Command Prompt:

command prompt

1. View all saved Wi-Fi profiles

Type

netsh wlan show profiles

Press Enter.

2. Delete a profile

Type

netsh wlan delete profile <SSID>

Press Enter:

delete profile of a network

How to forget all saved Wi-Fi profiles at once in cmd or PowerShell

This will remove all wifi profiles from your PC. You will have to enter a security key for every wireless network you wish to connect.

Type

netsh wlan delete profile *

Press Enter:

forget all wifi networks at once

That’s it!

1 comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.