How to Reset Sync for Google Chrome and Turn Off the Sync Passphrase

When you enable the sync passphrase in Google Chrome you switch on the encryption for your bookmarks, passwords and other things. And all you have to do is to switch the selector. Turning off the sync passphrase is not so easy – you need to reset Sync using the special steps. You may want to reset sync if you forgot your sync passphrase or just want to turn it off.

How to reset sync for Google Chrome and remove the sync passphrase

  1. Go to the Google Dashboard:
    https://www.google.com/settings/chrome/sync
  2. Scroll down and click on Reset Sync at the bottom of the web page:
    reset sync google chrome
  3. Click OK:
    reset sync ok
  4. Click Sign in to Chrome:
    sign in to Chrome
  5. Enter you login and password… and a verification code of you have 2-step verification enabled:
    sign in to Chrome login
  6. As the result the sync is enabled again while the sync passphrase is not used any more:
    encryption is disabled after the sync reset All data is being encrypted with your Google login and password. However, you need to enter your verification code if you have enabled it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.